Djokovic hits 'one of the great returns of all time' - Wimbledon 2014

Return of the Four. Djokovic, Federer, Nadal and Murray gather again

The Cincinnati Tournament has a very long history. This is one of the three current Masters that appeared in the 19th century. The oldest is the tournament in Canada, where men began to play in 1881 (women in 1892), followed by the Monte Carlo competition, which appeared in 1897.

In Cincinnati, the first champions were defined in 1899 - here the men's and women's tournaments started simultaneously. Competitions are now joint for women and men, although there was a long period of existence of only a men's tournament - from 1974 to 2003, tennis players played in Cincinnati only once, in 1988. The first champion of the tournament that returned to the calendar in 2004 was Lindsay Davenport, who defeated Vera Zvonareva in the final. Note that Cincinnati is now the oldest tennis tournament in the United States, which has never changed its city. The US National Championship, which later became the US Open, was held in Newport until 1915.

WTA / Premier 5. Cincinnati (USA). Western & Southern Open
Prize fund : $ 2,944,486.
Coverage : hard, outdoor courts.
Date : August 12-18.
Time difference with Moscow : -7 hours.
Application for the tournament (rating from 05/08/2019) : Ashley Barty (1), Naomi Osaka (2), Karolina Plishkova (3), Simona Halep (4), Kiki Bertens (5) , Petra Kvitova (6), Elina Svitolina (7), Sloane Stevens (8), Arina Sobolenko (9), Serena Williams (10), Daria Kasatkina (40), Ekaterina Aleksandrova (48), Maria Sharapova (81, WC) , Svetlana Kuznetsova (198, WC).

Full list of participants .

Refused to participate : Katrin Bellis (no rating , SR), Marketa Vondrousova (15), Daniel Collins (36).
The current winner : Kiki Bertens.

The American women who played in the first half of the 20th century are the record holders for the number of titles here, and hardly anyone knows their names: Ruth Cordes and Clara Zinke. At the same time, the recent history of the tournament is too short to set serious records. By the way, it only rose to the level of Premier 5 in 2009, before that, for 5 years, competitions in Cincinnati were in the lowest category (according to the current classification - International).

At that time, three Russian women managed to become champions : Vera Zvonareva in 2006, Anna Chakvetadze in 2007 and Nadezhda Petrova in 2008. Over the next three years, Russian tennis players were also certainly in the final. Dinara Safina lost to Elena Yankovich in 2009, Maria Sharapova lost to Kim Kleisters a year later, and in 2011 she won the title, preventing Yankovich from becoming a two-time champion. Since then, the Russians have not made it to the Cincinnati final.

The best result in terms of the number of victories in the tournament belongs to Serena Williams - the American won here twice, in 2014 and 2015. This time, her performance in Cincinnati itself is questionable given the fact that she was forced to abandon the fight at the beginning of the final in Toronto. In total, Serena performed in fin three timesale Cincinnati. Simona Halep shares this record with her, but the Romanian has never won here.

ATP World Tour Masters 1000. Cincinnati (USA). Western & Southern Open
Prize fund : $ 6,735,690.
Coverage : hard, outdoor courts.
Date : August 11-18.
Time difference with Moscow : -7 hours.
Application for the tournament (rating from 08/05/2019) : Novak Djokovic (1), Rafael Nadal (2), Roger Federer (3), Dominic Tim (4), Stefanos Tsitsipas (5) , Kei Nishikori (6), Alexander Zverev (7), Karen Khachanov (8), Daniil Medvedev (9), Fabio Fognini (11), Andy Murray (325, WC).

Full list of participants .

Refused to participate : Kevin Anderson (10), Juan Martin del Potro (12), Milos Raonic (19).
The current winner : Novak Djokovic.

The Cincinnati Men's Tournament has a completely different story. In more than a hundred years of its holding, it was interrupted only twice - because of the First World War and because of the Great Depression. In 1990, the competition entered the Super Nine, which is now known as the Masters 1000. Roger Federer loves this tournament most of all, having won here seven times.

Until last year, the Swiss had never lost a title match here, but in 2018 -m lost to Novak Djokovic. Thanks to this, the Serb became the first tennis player in history to collect a complete collection of Masters - now he has victories in all nine tournaments of this series. By the way, here, unlike the Canadian Masters, both Djokovic and Federer came. It will also be Andy Murray's first singles since the Australian Open at the start of this season. The Briton underwent surgery, during which a metal plate was inserted into his thigh, and at the beginning of the summer he returned to competition in doubles.

Players who were not part of the Big Four won the title here only twice after 2006. In 2016, Marin Chilich became the champion, and in 2017 - Grigor Dimitrov. Note also that this is the most unsuccessful Masters for the Russians - the only one in which none of our tennis players reached the final.

Now there are two Russian tennis players in the main draw, and if Karen Khachanov is due to the 8th seed misses the first round, then Daniil Medvedev became the 9th seeded and starts from the first round, despite reaching the final of Montreal. It's funny that his first rival, like in Canada, will be Briton Kyle Edmund. Another Russian, Andrei Rublev, reached the final of the Cincinnati qualification, where he will play with Mikhail Kukushkin from Kazakhstan.

Djokovic Takes Hard Fall Monte-Carlo 2017

Previous Post Nadal defeated the Russian in the final. But all the stars went through the same
Next Post All Russians in the Masters finals. Will Canada see a new champion from Russia?